I am on a quest to re-create the Kashi brand frozen southwestern chicken flavor dinner.  I can’t buy their grain mix anywhere around here, so  I grabbed a random sampling of grains from the bulk bins, organic where it was a choice, and I’ll post how it turns out as I mess with it.

Test one:

1/2 cup short grain brown rice

1/4 cup each bulgher cracked wheat, rye berries and oat groats.

Fill the cooker up to the 3 cup line with half water, half nonfat chicken stock and a teaspoon of sea salt.

This is how it came out, I had a half cup of this mixed with a half  cup of black beans, some salsa and a big pinch of shredded sharp cheddar on top a few hours ago and I’m still full.  I was too lazy to grill up chicken strips but other than not having meat it was almost identical since I throw cheese on top of their frozen dinners too.

cooked grains.  exciting.

