rose, originally uploaded by i am superjen.

Here’s the story of the most determined plant I know.

In 1997, I bought a tiny plastic pot out of a clearance grocery cart at Kroger for 15 cents. It had a cup of potting soil and a half dead miniature rose plant in it. I took it home, put it on the porch and forgot about it.

Every year, it blooms and then gets a disease and almost dies. It’s different every year. Once all the leaves turned yellow and fell off. Once they got black spots and fell off. Once it froze early in fall and all the leaves turned brown and fell off. Are you beginning to see a pattern here?

So anyway, every year it dies and I think ‘Oh well, it did great for a 15 cent clearance plant!’. Every summer it blooms again. It has been moved to four different houses, it has been in all kinds of light from full deep shade to blazing hot sun all day, and this will be the tenth year that my little rosebush has been shoved off to the side of the house and not been watered or fed or anything, and the tenth year that it blooms anyway. I’m scared to pamper it now, it obviously likes to be neglected.

It smells really nice, too. And that’s my post today, a picture of the rose blooming – a picture before something awful happens to the leaves and they all fall off.

